Songs I go back to always – My Thoughts

I truly believe that music is the backbone of a song, so I value music more than lyrics.

I will give you a brief insight to my musical journey and then start with my song recommendation. I love recommending songs!

The Start –

Back in the day – just like most Indian teenagers I started listening to Hindi movie songs, Hindi songs were great back then. A good Hindi song is hard to find these days!

Early Teenage Days –

I got introduced to Green Day during my high school days, thanks to the UEFA Champions League 2008/09 feature song – Boulevard of Broken Dreams. Green Day instantly became my first favorite band and then I heard a lot of Eminem (I sometimes still do), Linkin Park, Switchfoot, Poets of the Fall etc.

Transitioning to Maturity –

Porcupine Tree is that one band which quickly replaced all other artists/bands. Why? Because they’re so melancholic. I got addicted to their music, I felt their music pushed the best poetry out of my soul. And just like that my moongazing-stargazing sessions started, I wasn’t afraid of going up to the terrace at night and also started admiring the beauty of night. Sadly, the band broke up in 2009… I’m wondering why I called myself mature up there.

Anyway, without further ado, here are some songs from the past I still prefer to listen.

  • Half Light by Porcupine Tree

Why you should listen to this – This song is simply unearthly. The music is fantastic, and the lyrics are spot on. If you’ve lost someone, then this song is for you.

Best Time to ListenAnytime at night

  • Lazarus by Porcupine Tree

Why you should listen to this – Because it’s very simple and such a joyful song. Again, Porcupine Tree’s music is out of this world, and the lyrics are great. If you want some positive vibes, then this song is for you.

Best Time to Listen – Anytime at night during winters I guess

  • Heartattack in a Layby by Porcupine

Why you should listen to this – I really don’t want any of you to be sad but this is a great breakup song. For sure you can see my love for Porcupine Tree, the first time I heard this song – I got goosebumps and I played it on repeat for several days. If you’ve had a breakup, please proceed with caution and take care.

Best Time to Listen – Anytime (a broken heart is always lost)

  • Trains by Porcupine Tree

Why you should listen to this – This is a great summer song with awesome music. I’m still trying to figure out the meaning of the song’s lyric, but you can give this one a try and feel the summer vibe.

Best Time to Listen – Anytime at night during summers

  • Fadeaway by Porcupine Tree

Why you should listen to this – Okay so I don’t smoke or drink, but this is for those who stay high. The music is trippy, and the lyrics are fine too. Try not to intoxicate yourself.

Best Time to Listen – Anytime when you’re not planning to be high

  • Transatlanticism by Death Cab for Cutie

Why you should listen to this – This song isn’t too special for me anymore but it’s still great and has decent music and lyrics. If you need someone very close right now, then this song is for you.

Best Time to Listen – Anytime at night

  • Love of My Life by Queen

Why you should listen to this – Who doesn’t want to listen to Freddie Mercury? If you haven’t heard this man, you’re in for a treat now. Freddie wrote this song for Mary Austin – the lady love of his life. Although he was gay (I’ve no issues with anyone who’s Homosexual) and died of AIDS in 1991 but I respect him coz he left his entire mansion for Mary Austin and her family.

The song is beautiful and so is her majesty – Queen.

Best Time to Listen – Anytime

  • Bewajah, produced by Coke Studio

Why you should listen to this – This is a desi song for anyone who understands Urdu/Hindi. A great song which brings back memories of your past lover. Lyrics are well crafted and music too is decent.

Best Time to Listen – Anytime

And that’s it for now! Thanks for reading and listening to all these.

Please let me know what you think about them and feel free to suggest your favorite songs. Enjoy!

Leave a comment